Career · Psychology

The 2 minute rule

David Allen, in his book- Getting Things Done shares a very sweet tip. If anything takes less than 2 minutes, do it then and there. Do NOT postpone.

Before I consciously implemented this mindset, I used to postpone many things (that would take less than 2 minutes to do). For example, pay a phone bill. It’s natural for my mind to postpone a transactional job like this. But I am constantly going to be thinking about the fact that I haven’t paid my bill, allowing this thought to occupy unnecessary head space.

Image result for 2 minute rule

How I implement the 2 minute rule:

Whenever a task comes my way (that requires my attention), I ask a simple question to myself- Will this take me less than 2 minutes to do? If the answer is yes, I do it then and there. The benefits of this rule when applied, are great. You end up doing a lot without even feeling the stress. 2 minutes of your time frees up a lot of space in your head. And who doesn’t love a clear head?

Leave a Reply

