Business · Career

Sabbath day!

The Sabbath is the Lord’s day, set apart each week for rest and worship. In Old Testament times, God’s covenant people observed the Sabbath on the seventh day of the week because god rested on the seventh day when he had created the earth. My interpretation of a Sabbath day is a day in the week/ a day in 2 weeks to unwind, reflect and release the stress to rejuvenate for the next week/fortnight!

Sunday is usually my Sabbath day. Staying in with family, catching up with my friends and reading/watching a movie in a cafe for most hours of the evening is how I spend my Sabbath day.

Image result for sabbath day

 

Examples of what my Sabbath day looks like:

1. Catching up with friends and family- My friends are all over the world and that is SO annoying. God bless SKYPE, Facebook and Whatsapp.
2. Plugging lose ends- I would have planned to finish something during the week but obviously, plans don’t work out all the time
3. Re-focusing on personal goals and the bigger picture- Sometimes, I am so focused on attending to urgent and critical things that the non-urgent but important things slip out of my attention. An example of important and non-urgent activity will be ‘capturing my expenses during the week’ so I have a fair idea of where my money is going. This, I do in an excel sheet every Sunday evening.
4. Dancing- Whether it is in my room, all by myself or in a studio, dancing is my go-to stress buster.

In all the mad rush, don’t forget to claim your Sabbath day! The benefits of this day are peace and rejuvenated energy to face the coming days with optimism and efficiency.

Leave a Reply

